My Photo

RicMama's Blogs


  • Email Address:
  • Website:


I'm a 40-ish Navy wife and home school mom of three boys.

I'm married to an amazing man who gets better looking with each passing year. Seriously. It's kind of creepy. Easy on the eyes, but creepy.

I am living proof that a Navy wife's job is ruthless, but doable if given the proper medication.

I'm an Okie living temporarily on the North-left coast. It rains a lot here. I'm not seeing the attraction.

We are in our eighth year of home schooling.

I firmly believe home schooling a child before age seven is silly - Go Play!

When I go on a blog binge my family eats Ramen Noodles.

I am an avid, self-taught quilter.

I love Scrabble.

If my kids play Scrabble with me I don't make them do spelling.

I was born in Boulder, Colorado. That pretty much explains things...

I always have at least 3 books in my car "Just In Case".

I read constantly.

My oldest son is finally big enough for me to swipe his sweatshirts.

You couldn't pay me to wear his shoes.

I'm a card-carryin', Ann Coulter readin', right- wing Conservative.

I'm a walking target here on the Left Coast.

I'm a Yankees fan. If you like the Red Sox, I won't hold it against you. I won't take you seriously, but I won't hold it against you.

I used to write political Op-Ed pieces for various publications.

That job will make you put Prozac in your Pez container.

Even though I am dangerously outnumbered, I'm glad I have no girls. One princess in the family is enough.

When our cat, Abby, dies it'll be my turn.

I also have a golden retriever. It balances out the cat.

I used to bartend on the beach in Florida at a place called Melons.

We didn't sell produce.

Did I mention that I'm a walking testimony of God's grace?

Ann B. Davis (Alice on the Brady Bunch) was at my confirmation when I was nine.

I have no idea why.

I'm 5' tall. My husband is 6'2". Unlike Katie Holmes, I can wear heels without slouching.

I read Hollyweird tabloids on long road trips.

I'm convinced 99.9% of the contents in tabloids isn't true.

I read them anyway.

I work out regularly. Yes, I'm one of those types.

I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Family Studies and Counseling.

I'm gearing up for my kid's therapy.